5 steps to management system certification

Step 1. Buy the relevant ISO standard

You’ll need a copy of the relevant international standard, for example ISO 9001:2015, ISO 14001:2015, ISO 45001:2018, etc.  Atlas Certification conduct audits and certifies organisations based on the requirements of these standards. Click here to learn where to purchase standards.

Familiarise yourself with the clauses in the standard and compare the requirements with what you already have in place.  Conduct your own gap analysis to identify any additional areas that may need addressing. Some organisations benefit from using external consultants to support them with this process.

Step 2. Gather the information you need

To support your application for certification, you will need information about your company and the management system.  Review and confirm your understanding of the Certification Rules shown on our website.

Step 3. Apply for an audit and certification

Complete and submit our online application form. You will receive a quotation and a copy of our Service Agreement for signing.

Step 4. Meet your account manager

We’ll assign you an Atlas Certification account manager who will support and guide you through the whole process.

Once we have received all your information, you may choose to have a gap analysis where your account manager visits you and reviews what you have in place and identifies any gaps. Gap analysis is an optional stage.

Step 5. Initial audit and certification

The initial audit comprises a Stage 1 and Stage 2.  The Stage 1 focusses on your management system and conformance with the requirements of the standard.  The Stage 2 focusses on the effective implementation of your management system.  Once both stages are approved, your organisation will become certified to the standard for a period of 3 years.

Ongoing surveillance and recertification

Once certification is granted, you may promote this by displaying our logos on publications and marketing literature.  Certification is maintained based on the ongoing completion of surveillance audits and a recertification audit prior to the expiry of your certificate (refer to our Certification Rules).